Soprano Renée Fleming today releases Voice of Nature: The Anthropocene, her new album with Yannick Nézet-Séguin, on Decca Classics. Inspired by the solace Fleming found while hiking near her Virginia home during lockdown, the album explores the centrality of nature in Romantic-era songs and highlights the peril and fragility of the natural world today.

Says Fleming, “This music begins in a time almost two centuries ago, when people had a profound connection to the beauty of nature. Now, in the Anthropocene, we see the effects of our own activity and the fragility of our environment. Nature has been so good to us: we have not been so good to nature.”

Stream or Purchase:

Voice of Nature: The Anthropocene Tracklist
1. Kevin Puts – Evening
2. Fauré – “Prison” from 2 Mélodies, Op.83 No. 1:
3. Hahn – “Les étoiles,” from 12 Rondels
4. Hahn – “L’Heure exquise,” from 7 Chansons grises
5. Fauré – “En Sourdine,” from 5 Mélodies, Op.58
6. Fauré – Rêve d’amour, Op.5
7. Liszt – S’il est un charmant gazon, S284
8. Nico Muhly – Endless Space

9. Fauré – “Les berceaux,” from 3 Mélodies, Op.23
10. Fauré – “Au bord de l’eau,” from 3 Mélodies, Op.8
11. Hahn – “L’Énamourée,” from 12 Rondels
12. Liszt – Über allen Gipfeln ist Ruh, S306
Grieg: Sechs Lieder, Op.48
     13. No. 3  Lauf der welt
     14. No. 5 Zur rosenzeit
     15. No. 6 Ein traum
16. Caroline Shaw: Aurora Borealis*

*World Premiere Recording

Classical Music Discoveries is sponsored by La Musica International Chamber Music Festival and Uber.













Please consider supporting our show, thank you!


This album is broadcasted with the permission of Katy Solomon from Morahana Arts and Media.