When the Wu released their debut album back in 1993, fans were eagerly awaiting every member's solo record. Method's Man's Tical and ODB's Return to the 36 Chambers came out over the next two years and did not disappoint. Raekwon the Chef was up next , but no one was really prepared for what he was about to drop. Only Built 4 Cuban Linx stood out from from the crowd, not only because of the signature purple cassette tape, but because of its influence  on mafioso rap, the introduction of Wu-Gambinos and the popularization of Cristal in rap. 

The one and only Havoc of Mobb Deep sits down with us to talk about this groundbreaking album, RZA's masterful production and use of samples, and the New York rap scene at the time. Get ready, folks, this right here is a true heater of an episode.


More on Havoc

More on Only Built 4 Cuban Linx


Song Tracklisting (all songs from Only Built 4 Cuban Linx unless otherwise indicated):

  • Can It Be All So Simple (Remix)
  • Spot Rusherz
  • Mobb Deep: Eye For A Eye (Your Beef is Mines)
  • Incarcerated Scarfaces
  • Criminology
  • Striving For Perfection
  • Mobb Deep: (The Infamous Prelude)
  • Ice Cream
  • Earl Klugh: A Time For Love
  • Incarcerated Scarfaces
  • Verbal Intercourse
  • Criminology
  • Knuckleheadz
  • Rainy Dayz
  • Shark N***** (Biterz)
  • Wu-Tang Clan: Wu-Tang: 7th Chamber
  • Heaven & Hell
  • Wisdom Body
  • Spot Rusherz
  • Guillotine
  • Ice Cream
  • Ghostface Killah: Poisonous Darts
  • Mobb Deep: Shook Ones, Pt. II
  • Ghostface Killah: Buck 50

Here is the Spotify playlist of as many songs as we can find there

If you’re not already subscribed to Heat Rocks in Apple Podcasts, do it here!