In honor of Computer World's 40th anniversary (!!!) we decided to rerun our episode with Nite Jewel discussing this classic album.

[show notes from the original post]

When we invited L.A.’s own Nite Jewel to join us, it probably shouldn’t have been a surprise that she picked Kraftwerk’s Computer World; after all, she’s toured the world performing the albumIn sitting down with us, NJ (aka Ramona Gonzalez) broke down how she first became obsessed with the album, walking the streets of Berkeley, thinking about German philosophy (no, really!) and why the LP is such a masterpiece of fusing a variety of musical elements all colliding in the early 1980s.

More on Computer World

More on Nite Jewel

Show Tracklisting (all songs from Computer World unless indicated otherwise):

  • Computer World
  • Nite Jewel: 2 Good 2 Be True
  • Nite-Funk: Let Me Be Me
  • Pocket Calculator
  • Computer Love
  • Zapp: Computer Love
  • Home Computer
  • Model 500: Future
  • Cluster: Prothese
  • It's More Fun To Compute
  • Gillette: Short Dick Man (Bass Mix)
  • Afro-Rican: Give It All You Got
  • Numbers
  • Nite Jewel: Artificial Intelligence
  • Home Computer
  • Night Jewel: Numbers
  • Numbers
  • Home Computer
  • Computer World 2

Here is the Spotify playlist of as many songs as we can find on there

If you’re not already subscribed to Heat Rocks in Apple Podcasts, do it here!