Musician/composer/producer/songwriter/music director/legend Patrice Rushen joins us to discuss Minnie's debut solo album Come to My Garden. We talk about the lush orchestration courtesy of Charles Stepney, Minnie's distinct voice, and Patrice's own journey with the album. 

At around the 27:50 mark, Morgan incorrectly states Lynn Fiddmont's song was "I Love You", when it's actually "U R Loved"


More on Patrice

More on Minnie Riperton

Show Tracklisting (all songs from Come to My Garden unless otherwise indicated):

  • Come To My Garden
  • Oh By The Way
  • Masters At Work: I Am The Black Gold of the Sun (Remix)
  • Only When I'm Dreaming
  • Earth, Wind & Fire: That's the Way of the World
  • Expecting
  • Lynn Fiddmont: U R Loved
  • Ramsey Lewis: Les Fleurs
  • Gang Starr: Jazz Music
  • Les Fleurs
  • Completeness
  • Rainy Day in Centerville
  • Les Fleurs
  • Rotary Connection: Memory Band
  • Memory Band
  • Flora Purim: You Love Me Only
  • Expecting
  • Come To My Garden
  • Oh By The Way
  • Chicago Gospel Keyboard Masters: Walk With Me Lord
  • Close Your Eyes And Remember
  • Come to My Garden
  • Rotary Connection: Turn Me On
  • Kadhja Bonet: Childqueen
  • Carleen Anderson: Morning Loving
  • Earth, Wind & Fire: Imagination
  • Deniece Williams: Free

Here is the Spotify playlist of as many songs as we can find on there
If you’re not already subscribed to Heat Rocks in Apple Podcasts, do it here!