In 1995, OutKast was booed by an angry crowd at the Source Awards after they won Best New Artist. During his speech, Andre 3000 famously declared "The South got something to say." Nowadays, ATL has a solid place in the history of rap, but OutKast had to fight for a seat at the table. 

OutKast becomes the newest member of the Triple Crown club here on Heat Rocks and we're talking to professor/scholar Regina Bradley about the duo's smothered, covered, diced, and topped LP, Aquemini. We discuss Andre's evolution as a rapper, the deep Atlanta love throughout the record, and where this album ranks in OutKast's discography. 


More on Regina Bradley

More on Aquemini

Show Tracklisting (all songs from Aquemini unless otherwise indicated):

  • Rosa Parks
  • SpottieOttieDopaliscious
  • Hold On, Be Strong
  • Slump
  • West Savannah
  • Return of the "G"
  • Nathaniel
  • Rosa Parks
  • SpottieOttieDopaliscious
  • Mamacita
  • Da Art of Storytellin' (Pt. 1)
  • Liberation
  • SpottieOttieDopaliscious
  • Chonkyfire
  • Aquemini
  • Rosa Parks
  • De La Soul: Patti Dooke
  • Goodie Mob: Cell Therapy
  • Dungeon Family: Trans D F Express
  • EARTHGANG: Blue Moon

Here is the Spotify playlist of as many songs as we can find there
If you’re not already subscribed to Heat Rocks in Apple Podcasts, do it here!