When Cardi B dropped her first single Bodak Yellow back in the summer of 2017, it was a bit of a slow burn. It spent a few months moving around in the charts, but eventually became a number one single and one of the biggest hits of her career. She quickly followed up with a few more singles "I Like It" and "Bartier Cardi" which showed her versatility as a rapper, incorporating wildly different genres of music like trap, Latin boogaloo, and R&B. Cardi was hungry and made it clear through her honest lyrics and fiery delivery.

Scholar and archivist Syreeta Gates sits down with us to discuss Cardi's move from Love & Hip-Hop: New York to one of the most powerful voices in rap music, the distinct New York vibe of the entire record, and what makes Cardi so charismatic 

More on Syreeta Gates

More on Cardi B 

Show Tracklisting (all songs from Invasion of Privacy unless otherwise indicated):

  • Thru Your Phone
  • Drip
  • Bodak Yellow
  • Get Up 10
  • Best Life
  • Drip
  • Lil' Kim: Ladies Night
  • Cardi B & Megan Thee Stallion: WAP
  • Drip
  • Bickenhead
  • I Like It
  • Be Careful
  • Drake: Nice for What
  • She Bad
  • Bartier Cardi
  • Best Life
  • Queen Latifah: Wrath of My Madness
  • Lil' Kim: Queen Bitch
  • Megan Thee Stallion: Girls in the Hood

Here is the Spotify playlist of as many songs as we can find on there.
If you’re not already subscribed to Heat Rocks in Apple Podcasts, do it here!