Garth Risk Hallberg is my guest in this episode of Rock is Lit. Full disclosure, Garth is the son of my late husband, Bill Hallberg, who was also a writer and teacher. Garth is here to talk about the new Apple TV+ series ‘City on Fire’, which is based on his 2015 international bestselling novel of the same title.

The first three episodes of this eight-episode music-driven mystery thriller premiere Friday, May 12, 2023. You can catch one new episode weekly through June 16, 2023.

If you haven’t seen the show trailer or read the novel yet, here’s a very brief synopsis of the plot: “A college student is shot in Central Park on July 4, 2003. The investigation connects a series of mysterious citywide fires, the downtown music scene, and a wealthy uptown real estate family fraying under the strain of the many secrets they keep.”



  • Royalty free indie instrumental music
  • “Knuckleduster” by Muzz
  • “No One Knows” by Queens of the Stone Age
  • “NYC” by Interpol
  • Clip from CBS This Morning on Garth—Focuses on NYC 1977 Blackout
  • “Miami 2017” by Billy Joel
  • “The Rat” by The Walkmen
  • “You Only Live Once” by The Strokes
  • “Maps” by Yeah Yeah Yeahs



Leave a rating and comment for Rock is Lit on Goodpods:

Leave a rating and comment for Rock is Lit on Apple Podcasts:

‘City on Fire’ Apple TV webpage: 

Garth Risk Hallberg, Lit Hub Interview on the TV series ‘City on Fire’:

IndieBound website, where you can locate indie bookstores to purchase the novel ‘City on Fire’ by Garth Risk Hallberg:

Christy Alexander Hallberg’s website:

Christy Alexander Hallberg on Twitter, Instagram, YouTube: @ChristyHallberg

Learn more about your ad choices. Visit